Book Reviews

the-company-she-keeps4

The Company She Keeps

Tracy Carter
About Reviewer: Internet Marketer 

I meet you, Ms. Durante, in Hollywood at a domestic violence group in 04 I was the one that got the free surgery. You gave me your book and I have read it like 25 times!! This is the best book I've ever read in my whole life and I read a LOT of books!!!!
This is my all time favorite book.. Thank You so much!!


I'm sorry It Ended!, August 16, 2001

Denise Cutrona from Parlin, NJ United States

not a reader of books. I received this book as a gift. When I opened it, I truly didn't think I would read it in full. Well, was I surprised! This is one of the best books I have ever read! Ms. Durante is an inspiration to all women. She is a strong, determined woman who has been through more than most of us go through in a lifetime. I was sorry to see the pages coming to an end as I read, but I just couldn't put it down. You won't be sorry you read this book, it will stay with you for days, and with me forever!


Absolutely amazing and inspiring!, August 21, 2001

Michelle G. from Phoenix, AZ United Statesv

Michelle G. from Phoenix, AZ United States


It's an incredible journey, August 23, 2001

: Melanie Aldis from Los Angeles, CA

All I can say is this book is an amazing story of an extraordinary woman who got caught up in the mafia and traveled a dangerous, exciting, challenging journey to find herself. I could not put the book down. The things that she went through almost seemed unreal and each time she got back up on her feet and fought back. I was screaming, crying, and living through her story.


vThis book is as far from your typical non-fiction "2 chapters with milk & cookies before bedtime" reading as it gets. "The Company She Keeps" is phen

mafiason_99 (see more about me) from Craig

Georgia Durante has lived a life few have. She has had her ups and downs like anyone else has. But with her highs and lows have been so much more. The book kept me up most nights. With this true life story being fast paced and an inspiration. And shows how people can have two different sides to them as different as night and day.


The Company She Keeps, October 21, 2001

Tom Wiseman from West Covina, CA USA

This book is as far from your typical non-fiction "2 chapters with milk & cookies before bedtime" reading as it gets. "The Company She Keeps" is phenomenal reading and you won't put it down! This book kept me grabbing for the next page and my mind spinning many questions, which the author thankfully answered. The depth of Ms Durante's style in describing her thoughts and life experiences often left me awed, outraged, and at times numb. What a journey! Don't bother waiting or holding out for the paperback version - this book is an absolute keeper that you won't be loaning to your friends. If "The Company She Keeps" ever hits the big screen, be prepared for some VERY long lines at the box office.


Georgia Durante has written an exciting and attention grabbing book about her private life. Although the book is very fast paced and action packed, sh

Georgia Durante has written an exciting and attention grabbing book about her private life. Although the book is very fast paced and action packed, sh

Georgia Durante has written an exciting and attention grabbing book about her private life. Although the book is very fast paced and action packed, she writes with clarity and depth of feelings that are easy to relate to and follow. I could envision myself in her shoes and relate to what she was going through as if it were me going through it. I could hear, smell, see, and taste it all practically. The book reveals Georgia's own private world and the fascinating and different people she met and the many things she saw and did. It is definitely a page turner and it kept my attention fully. I really liked the book and it was great to read about Georgia's tremendous passion, courage, and spirit. Georgia Durante did a first class job on this book.


"What A Life!, November 15, 2001

Victoria from Texas

Georgia Durante has written an exciting and attention grabbing book about her private life. Although the book is very fast paced and action packed, she writes with clarity and depth of feelings that are easy to relate to and follow. I could envision myself in her shoes and relate to what she was going through as if it were me going through it. I could hear, smell, see, and taste it all practically. The book reveals Georgia's own private world and the fascinating and different people she met and the many things she saw and did. It is definitely a page turner and it kept my attention fully. I really liked the book and it was great to read about Georgia's tremendous passion, courage, and spirit. Georgia Durante did a first class job on this book.


The Company I Kept, also!, July 9, 2001

Dr. Bob Wishnoff from Albany,NY

In the past year we have been overwhelmed with the success of books and movies that highlighted and sometimes overly glorified the daily lives of "the mob" and those connected directly and indirectly to it. When I read Georgia's account, I was stopped cold with the real personal and intimate openness that she used to share her life. I say life, because this is not a "story" as so many other tales that have been written. This is real, genuine and remarkable, even that it could be shared, and that she is here to share it! A well organized, flowing account of what went on in various places at a time when sharing these stories was FORBIDDEN and RISKY. In a minor way, many years ago I got caught up in a small way with some of the same type of people and situations, and reading, and rereading The Company She Keeps, helped put me right back into that scary time and place, but trust me, what she went through, as only Georgia can describe it was Too REAL, this book got my adrenaline flowing again and almost wanted to make me go back into hiding myself. Thanks for the rush, the realness and the truth in a well told way. Can I be in the movie?


What a great story! What a tremendous heart! What a very special woman! How can someone that beautiful be that charming AND that smart? We're all wait

A reader from West Hollywood, CA United States

This was a real page-turner about someone who made lemons out of lemonade. It is very suspenseful as you go along with Georgia from one difficult situation to the next and when there seems to be no light at the end of the tunnel, something worse comes along. It should give hope to the many women trapped by their emotions and in the role of victims. Things can turn around and Georgia is the proof.


I was not disappointed at all after reading the high reviews and then reading Georgia's story. It was difficult to remember that the story is not fict

I was not disappointed at all after reading the high reviews and then reading Georgia's story. It was difficult to remember that the story is not fict

What a great story! What a tremendous heart! What a very special woman! How can someone that beautiful be that charming AND that smart? We're all waiting for the next chapter because someone as filled with the joy of living as Georgia Durante has to have many more stories to live. Good DOES triumph over evil. Light does overcome the darkness. There really can be happy endings.


Great Read, July 9, 2001

A reader from TN USA

I was not disappointed at all after reading the high reviews and then reading Georgia's story. It was difficult to remember that the story is not fiction. A highly enlightening and sobering look at the story behind the scenes of an outwardly appearing blissful life. I have passed the book on to friends who have thanked me a million times for recommending it. Georgia, when is the sequel coming? I have watched interviews on Oprah and Larry King Live, and would love to hear "the rest of the story."


Denise Cutrona from Parlin, NJ United States

Denise Cutrona from Parlin, NJ United States

Denise Cutrona from Parlin, NJ United States


Denise Cutrona from Parlin, NJ United States

Denise Cutrona from Parlin, NJ United States

Denise Cutrona from Parlin, NJ United States


(The Company She Keeps) is an outstanding book. It tells the true story of a wonderful lady's fight to live her life. It includes great detail about l

Denise Cutrona from Parlin, NJ United States

Denise Cutrona from Parlin, NJ United States


Famous people, good and bad, populate this fast paced tale. It's a story of an exceptionally beautiful and spirited woman and the profoundly different

Famous people, good and bad, populate this fast paced tale. It's a story of an exceptionally beautiful and spirited woman and the profoundly different

(The Company She Keeps) is an outstanding book. It tells the true story of a wonderful lady's fight to live her life. It includes great detail about living inside the mafia family, love affairs, death, betrayal, and survival at the fittest. My favorite part of the book is when Ms. Durante talks about her love affair with Frankie. It is so sweet how they love each other but so sad because they never really get together. He worries about her getting involved with him because he's in the mafia business. (...) This book is very well written and will keep you on your toes. I have read it at least 4 times and still can't put it down. I highly recommend this book to anyone who is interested in reading about a brave woman's life and how she survived living with mafia. You won't want to put the book down.


Famous people, good and bad, populate this fast paced tale. It's a story of an exceptionally beautiful and spirited woman and the profoundly different

Famous people, good and bad, populate this fast paced tale. It's a story of an exceptionally beautiful and spirited woman and the profoundly different

Famous people, good and bad, populate this fast paced tale. It's a story of an exceptionally beautiful and spirited woman and the profoundly different worlds in which she has lived.
The adrenaline soaked stories are unique and the author is not afraid to expose the raw truth about "street" people ...including herself. There is a fine line between good and evil. This novel presents a very real story of a woman who struggles to balance this line. In the end, good conquers evil and leaves the reader with a sense of hope. It's a must read for men, women and young adults as well. Everyone will come away with something they can apply to their own lives. As I read the last of the 456 pages, I was still thirsty for more, so I read it again. It's a book that lingers with you for a long time after you've read it. I am anxiously awaiting a sequel.


Famous people, good and bad, populate this fast paced tale. It's a story of an exceptionally beautiful and spirited woman and the profoundly different

Famous people, good and bad, populate this fast paced tale. It's a story of an exceptionally beautiful and spirited woman and the profoundly different

Famous people, good and bad, populate this fast paced tale. It's a story of an exceptionally beautiful and spirited woman and the profoundly different worlds in which she has lived.
The adrenaline soaked stories are unique and the author is not afraid to expose the raw truth about "street" people ...including herself. There is a fine line between good and evil. This novel presents a very real story of a woman who struggles to balance this line. In the end, good conquers evil and leaves the reader with a sense of hope. It's a must read for men, women and young adults as well. Everyone will come away with something they can apply to their own lives. As I read the last of the 456 pages, I was still thirsty for more, so I read it again. It's a book that lingers with you for a long time after you've read it. I am anxiously awaiting a sequel.


After reading her book, studying her on television, and growing to know more about this intensely driven lady I can only give her incredible praises.

James from Los Angeles, CA

Famous people, good and bad, populate this fast paced tale. It's a story of an exceptionally beautiful and spirited woman and the profoundly different worlds in which she has lived.
The adrenaline soaked stories are unique and the author is not afraid to expose the raw truth about "street" people ...including herself. There is a fine line between good and evil. This novel presents a very real story of a woman who struggles to balance this line. In the end, good conquers evil and leaves the reader with a sense of hope. It's a must read for men, women and young adults as well. Everyone will come away with something they can apply to their own lives. As I read the last of the 456 pages, I was still thirsty for more, so I read it again. It's a book that lingers with you for a long time after you've read it. I am anxiously awaiting a sequel.


Georgia is the Rise and Fall and Darkside side in us all!, February 27, 2002

Michael Bell from Abingdon, MD United States

After reading her book, studying her on television, and growing to know more about this intensely driven lady I can only give her incredible praises. She is the Rise and Fall and Darkside in all of us, and she takes us on her roller coaster of a life filled with incredible highs and torturous lows that only someone of her incredible character and strength could not only endure, but overcome.
Georgia's book is a most fascinating tale and savagely detailed look into the underworld and just how deep one can become involved before realizing it's too late to just 'step out' of it. Every man and woman alike should read this book and learn from it while you enjoy the thrills and chills throughout the journey!


thecompanyshekeeps , USA 5.0 5.0 55 55 I meet you, Ms. Durante, in Hollywood at a domestic violence group in 04 I was the one that got the free surgery. You gave me your book and I have read it like 25 times!! This is
Page:
123

Click here to submit your review.


Submit your review
* Required Field